Skip to Content

Space, Science, and Technology

As a member of Science, Space, and Technology Committee and Chairman of the Committee on Oversight, my colleagues and I are working hard to prioritize science, space, and technology initiatives that strengthen America’s economic competitiveness and reinforce our position as a worldwide leader in innovation, research and scientific discovery.

Since the start of the 114th Congress in January, the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, which I am a member of, has already taken action on the following key areas:

·      Ensuring EPA regulations are based on sound science

·      Holding the Obama administration accountable

·      Prioritizing scientific research and ensuring taxpayer-funded research grants are of national interest

·      Maintaining American leadership in public and private space exploration

·      Promoting STEM education

·      Protecting Americans from cyber attacks

Established in 1958, the Science, Space, and Technology Committee has jurisdiction over all non-defense federal scientific research and development. The Committee has jurisdiction over programs at the following federal agencies: NASA, the Department of Energy, the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the Federal Aviation Administration, the Federal Highway Administration, the Homeland Security Science and Technology Directorate, the U.S. Fire Administration, the United States Geological Survey, among others.